top of page
  • Writer's pictureAbigail Ferguson

Lab 1: Responding to climate change stories




Of the information that I read, I knew most of it already. However, I do not think I fully grasped the impact it will have on our near future. I thought that climate change was just we, as humans, being careless with the planet we live on. But now, I see that it is the failure of our kind to pull together and solve a problem we created.

Based on what I read, I believe that foundation of our failure is greed. We are unwilling to give up the comfortable life we have grown used to. The people who profit from the oil industry are unwilling to sacrifice their wealth for the sake of our planet. We are unwilling to put more effort than recycling in to fix what we have broken.

I think the biggest surprise for me was that more that a quarter of the world's emissions comes from China. I knew that is was a lot but I did not think it was that much. I thought the United States had the biggest percentage of emissions.

I cannot pretend to be high and mighty and scold the rest of the world. I know that there is so much work I could be doing to save the planet. Unfortunately, I am just like everyone else in thinking that if I am going to put my time and energy into working, there better be something in it for me. Apparently, a safe and healthy planet for future generations is not enough.

Word Count: 252


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page